No Offense But………..

My unfiltered thoughts about everything.

Going Home

My favorite songwriters and authors have something in common. The lot of them carried a torch for water from the wells of home, for the comfort and beauty of the small town America they grew up in, with all its quirks and oddities. They came from the South, from the cradle of the Civil War. They came from from the rural Jersey factory towns and the flat Arkansas fields. They are extensions of their birthplace, of the faith and pride in their small worlds, those places where everyone knows your name, where you can’t have too many secrets if there’s a back pew in your sight line.

I used to think I had to get out, to leave all that familiarity. I felt like I was doomed to die within fifteen miles of where I was born. Six months in a diametrically opposite location changed that, changed my way of seeing where it is I come from. Vegas did a lot for me, got me to put myself and the world around me in perspective. I was able to breathe for a bit, to think on where I’d been and where I was going. I wouldn’t trade that experience and the people for anything in the world. But now that we’re back, with all these years in front of us, I’m comfortable in saying that I don’t mind the thought of dying within fifteen miles of where I was born. In fact, I don’t know if I could have it any other way.

For what its worth, I feel like I’ve come full circle…and there’s something different about the lay of the land. The sweet tea tastes a little sweeter. The faces of family and friends are a sight for sore eyes. I had an adventure. I saw a different side of the country, lived something of a dream, and now I’m here to live my other ones, the big ones, the ones I had to come back to find, the ones I almost lost……..

ZZZZZZZZZZfgyy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2013 by in Life In General.
